Water Follies past president Mike Denslow accepts Water Follies third straight site of the year award at the 2016 H1 Awards Banquet

Tri-City Water Follies Awarded Race Site of the Year For the Third Consecutive Year at the Annual Unlimited Hydroplane Banquet

Niles Mayfield

SEATTLE, Wash. – Saturday, January 14, 2017 – The Tri-City Water Follies Association once again stood out among  unlimited hydroplane host cities when, in front of 170 drivers owners officials and fans attending the 2016 H1 Unlimited Champions Gala, they were announced Race Site of the Year – making it their third consecutive year winning the award. Past President Mike Denslow, who received the award on behalf of the Association said, “The Tri-Cities is a boat race community and our volunteers are the best.” Also on stage were first year pit-boss Juan Marin, Kathy Powell event director, and volunteers Deanna Robertson and Jeff Potter.


Other honors accepted by the association included the Vic Nelawake Award, given posthumously to Water Follies volunteer Niles Mayfield. The award recognizes an individual whose voluntary contributions to the sport of Unlimited Hydroplane Racing stand out among all volunteers.


The Water Follies is racking up quite a collection of awards and recognition. In addition to the Race Site of the Year award, they were voted the Best Annual Community Event in the Tri-Cities in 2016, and recently have brought home two H1 Unlimited Chairman’s Award of Excellence trophies and the Tri-Cities Visitor and Convention Bureau’s Tourism Champion of the Year award.


“It is no surprise”, said Powell. “Our volunteers, fans, sponsors and stakeholders graciously provide the support and resources we need to put on this world-class event.”


The 2017 HAPO Columbia Cup and Over the River Airshow will be held July 28 through July 30.


Follow us on facebook at www.facebook.com/TRICITYWATERFOLLIES. Additional event information available at www.waterfollies.com

Categorised in: 2015, 2016, Press Releases

This post was written by cdenslow